Clockwise or Anticlockwise

Hello - I have been throwing cylinders on my kick wheel for 3 months,  teaching myself. I have the wheel going clockwise which seems good - Now I have just bought a small electric wheel and wonder if I should use this one anticlockwise so I don't pick up bad habits. Any comments would be interesting on this subject Thanks

Hi and welcome!

Are you right or left handed? Typically if you’re right handed, you work with your right hand on the outside of the pot and your left hand inside with the wheel turning counterclockwise, and vice versa if you’re left handed. But there are a lot of ways to make pots, none of which are wrong per se, if they result in a pot being made. I would pick one method and stick with it on both wheels because there’s a lot of muscle memory to build, and trying to do it both ways is bound to trip you up. 
Hope that helps!

If you will be taking classes then working the same side of the wheel as the demo is being done it makes it easier for both you and the instructor. In Japan (and I think Korea) wheels go clockwise otherwise its counterclockwise. Doesn't matter if you are left or right handed since you use both while throwing.

Best to master  counterclockwise as thats the way  westerners do it as well as many other places on the globe .Left or right hand does not matter.

Once you master this you can master the other direction if you want.

3 hours ago, Hands On said:

however learning the basics of throwing is probably a different approach

That it is! I’ve met a few painters who made an effort to work ambidextrously. But I’ve never found working in clay conducive to any kind of prolonged comfort level. Something always comes along to challenge you, wether you want it or not, lol!