Antique Greenware

I recently acquired A LOT of greenware pieces that were thrown in the 70’s and 80’s by a local artist.  Yes, greenware!! I need to fire it but the gentleman does not remember what type of clay he used back then :). Any suggestions on what cone I should try????  I know it is not low fire. 
If I fire a high fire clay to cone 4 or 5 what happens? My max for my kiln is Cone 8. So if I fire mid range and glaze with a mid range glaze and it is a high fire clay what happens. 
I am a newbie and I have never fired my kiln but I have it installed and ready to go. My son who has autism received a pottery wheel for 16th birthday so I have to learn.

I have really tried to find an answer to this question but to no avail. 

What kinds of forms are these?  More info is useful---basic size/weight/shape and what will they be used for? Functional or sculptural?   I've been stuck using high fire clay with commercial mid fire glazes & firing to ^5-6, and it all worked out just fine (not vitrified to maturity tho) but these were non-functional pieces and were not going to be subjected to water, heat, or weather. Some photos would help.

At the very least, you could strengthen them a bit, by putting them in a bisque fire, which is going to be about the same regardless of the type of clay. 

Fire them to Cone 04 or 05, which will make them a whole lot stronger than they are as greenware.

After that, you could "sacrifice" one, and begin firing it at increasingly higher temps.  Start at Cone 5 or 6 and go from there.  I should note, that if your kiln is rated for Cone 8, that is the hottest it will get with brand new elements, and only a couple times after that.  From that point on, it will only get to Cone 5 or 6.