Sign in to follow this  
Spinnerkatie

melted cone on unwashed kiln shelf

I'm a real newbie to kilns.  I always had my pots fired in a studio.  I had the good fortune to be given a Duncan kiln (40 years old or so, I imagine)  It looked to be in such good shape I wasn't sure it had ever been fired.  I read in the manual that it should be pre-fired to 05 before I did a real glaze firing and so I put the kiln shelves into the kiln.  I didn't have kiln wash but I had read you didn't need it for a bisque firing.  I'm in the midst of ordering cone supports, which I was missing, but I thought (stupidly, I know now) that I could fire without the kiln sitter because I had a witness cone which I would watch.   I didn't have an 04 or 06, so I just put the one cone in and set the kiln to low, fired for an hour, medium for two hours and then switched to high and checked after 2 hours and the cone was a melted blob on the shelf.  So the good news is I think the kiln works just fine.  The bad news is that I have this blob on the shelf.  Can I just grind it off?  It seems like this is the way to do it and then I can just flip the shelf over and it won't matter so much that I have a less than perfect shelf surface?  Am I right in thinking this?  I know the kiln sitter will keep this from happening again, plus I plan to kiln wash the shelves.  But if I did have an 06 in there as a guardian cone or whatever, wouldn't that have melted to a blob before the 05 went over or did my kiln go a lot higher than 05 or even 04 to melt it into a blob.  I'm glad I didn't have any ware in there and I'm hoping I didn't do too much damage to the shelf.