Best Clay Slip for Planter Pots

Hi, I am new to slip casting. So far I have been using ceramic slip, but would be interested in trying other materials. Here are my questions. I appreciate your help.

Besides ceramic slip, what other types (stoneware etc) that works with casting molds and more delicate designs?

Do I only have to use Cone 6 or will cone 4 work as well?

Can I glaze and paint Terracotta?

Thank you!

Depends on if they're indoor or outdoor.  For outdoor you want a clay that vitrifies with close to zero absorption.  This will help stop it from breaking when it freezes.  I like this kind because I can use it indoors or outdoors any time of year and don't have to worry.  Terra cotta is very weak and absorbs water so it's great for roots, but will die in the cold.

15 minutes ago, liambesaw said:

Depends on if they're indoor or outdoor.  For outdoor you want a clay that vitrifies with close to zero absorption.  This will help stop it from breaking when it freezes.  I like this kind because I can use it indoors or outdoors any time of year and don't have to worry.  Terra cotta is very weak and absorbs water so it's great for roots, but will die in the cold.

Thank you for your response. For that type of clay slip casting, which would you use? Aka does stoneware work, or just proclean. I want these to work indoors mostly, but also outdoors. Does the Cone matter?

thanks

claymanny,   the cone is the most important consideration.

what is the exact meaning of your second sentence, to you, what is ceramic slip and what sort of "other materials" are you thinking of?