QotW: How has your work progressed in terms of variety of form??

Hi folks, once again there appears to be nothing in the Pool the is new, so I will ask a follow up on Hulk's question of the last week or so, QotW: How has your  work progressed in terms of variety of form?

This is relevant, because I have seen a lot of throwers over the years and found that some would throw almost any form, and some would always throw just a few forms. As we all know, there are 3 major forms, the cylinder, bowl, and plate. However, within each of these there is a wonderful range of variation. I have been a teacher in the past, and found that students would want to know something that may be obscure, How to throw something that you had not idea how to begin. It may have been a chip and salsa dish, or a tulipiere, or a wheel thrown butter dish for stick butter. All too often I would fall back on the 3 forms and navigate a course of throwing and construction. Finishing these projects would show the students that there was a need for creative thinking within the seemingly tight context of throwing. Ever have a failure, certainly, I still have not been able to throw a sphere! Just don't seem to leave enough clay in the base to support the form, or can't get the form to go beyond a narrow base to a shoulder 2/3 of the way up going to a neck. Maybe one day!

QotW: How has your  work progressed in terms of variety of form?

best,

Pres

2 hours ago, Pres said:

QotW: How has your  work progressed in terms of variety of form?

2 hours ago, Pres said:

...  I still have not been able to throw a sphere! Just don't seem to leave enough clay in the base to support the form, or can't get the form to go beyond a narrow base to a shoulder 2/3 of the way up going to a neck.