Hi there!

Hope you're all hanging in there. I am posting regarding the topic of consistency in form. I'm a beginner/intermediate potter (taken 2 semesters of pottery a year or so ago and now just getting back into it with a studio 24/7 membership.) I have the basics down: centering (although, haven't nailed down centering perfectly yet - there is still always a slight twinge in my spinning clay, if you know what I mean), make the whole, pulling the walls up, etc. 

However, I have yet to be able to replicate seemingly similar pieces, either bowls or mugs. I would love to make sets, but my pieces always turn out just a bit different. It feels like when pulling up the walls, I don't really have the skills yet to make it a certain shape; rather, the piece kinda makes its own shape. I'd love to be able to make mugs that are straight up walls. However, my pieces tend to have more shape and body to them (which isn't a bad thing - just a different style.) For reference, I throw about 2.5 - 3 lbs. to make mugs (2.5) or bowls (3). My base is usually pretty wide as I tend to have a wider base when I'm centering. Thus, when I pull up, I tend to try and bring it in a bit. When getting to the top/rim, sometimes that caves in, caves out, etc. I often feel the rim is pretty sensitive so don't put too much pressure on it. 

I've attached my most recent mugs below. Any suggestions would help so that I can get more consistent with my form!

Mugs.jpeg