Used/second hand pottery wheel & kiln

Hi everyone,

Please excuse my general lack of knowledge around ceramics. I am a complete beginner and am desperate to set up my own workshop. I have the space as I live on a farm in Australia with sheds available. I have been advised to buy my initial start up equipment second-hand if possible and I am finding it difficult to source any Australian based second-hand listings or forums that can point me in the right direction. Does anyone have any tips on how to go about this? I am located in Sydney, NSW specifically. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Alex :) 

Hi Alex,

Might take a while to find good equipment, meanwhile, research pricing, features, etc. - get an idea what you'd like to start with and fair prices...

Not seeing anything here, but keep looking https://sydney.craigslist.org/

...and facebook marketplace (set location to Sydney) - am seeing a few kilns and one wheel a Venco in Wagga Wagga, hrm, $950 is about $600USD; looks like Venco is still in business, parts available, etc. I'd stay away from cone drive, however, many swear by them.

...and local adverts and classifieds

...check also local ceramic supply outfits for postings, specials, leads

Good luck! I'm still happy with my ancient used kiln and still covered by warrantee (was in) brand new condition wheel! The kiln came with a few old warped shelves, and brand new shelf set, assortment of posts, several boxes of cones, and several pounds of glaze materials as well. The wheel seller tossed in a box of tools and some bags of clay - I asked, as they were sitting right there.

Edited by Hulk
plus
15 hours ago, Alex said:

Hi everyone,