Hi,
I am a total newbie to ceramics, but my daughter and I are excited to be starting this new adventure together!    So please bear with me if my topic is showing  such a lack of even the most basic understanding of how things work.

We are planning on creating artistic 'flat' ornaments..   We do plan to 'bisque fire' & then 'glaze fire' our ornaments.     (You'll probably hear from me again when we get to working with our Kiln!)

I have been playing around with creating a few ornaments,  and now have created a couple of plaster molds of my ornaments...   
I poured my slip (premixed & purchased from Dick Blick's) into one of my molds.  But, as the slip dried, there was such shrinkage of the slip, that the center of the item somewhat collapses &  one even cracked, leaving me with a 'bowled ' back of the ornament when what I really want is flat...   

The castings are between 1/4" thick to a very max of 1/2" thick with a maximum diameter of 2"-3".   I have purchased bisque items where they are that thick (with a flat back), so I assumed one can pour slip that thick..  ??

I'd be so grateful for any guidance such as:

1) Suggestions on informative books  or videos to educate myself on the basics of ceramics.  Probably a very good step to move forward!  I have searched YouTube and not found any useful videos dealing with one-piece molds such as what I'm trying to do..  but would so appreciate a highly recommended  'learning the basics of ceramics" book/course/video.
2)  Should I be using a specific type of plaster for my molds - maybe what I used to create my mold is absorbing the moisture too fast?
3)  Should I be using a specific type of slip?   or is Slip even the right material for what we are trying to do??
4)  What might be an expected shrinkage %?     
5)   Do you pour the slip in thin layers before each prior layer is dry?  
6)  Any general suggestions   (other than telling me I might not belong in the ceramic world)?     :-)      

We all started somewhere!