Help with Centering!

Hello there!

I am a beginner/medium level potter. I recently joined a membership to a local studio so that I could practice as much possible. Although, I probably should have signed up for a class for some one-on-one personal attention :)

My question is around the basics of centering clay. I know the basic motions, and usually can get my piece close to being centered. However, when I go to trim pieces, the piece never trims centered. For example, some observations: the flat bottom that I am trimming is uneven, the foot rings that I am creating are uneven (one side thin, the other side of the foot wider). Thus, I'm wondering if it's difficult to trim because my piece wasn't absolutely, completely centered before I started to pull. OR could it be a mix of other things? For example, when I pull my walls up, things can get unbalanced or when I center my piece upside down before trimming, maybe I'm not centering it completely. 

I'm sure it's probably hard to answer this question without really seeing my work, but I would love any suggestions/advice on just how I can get more consistent with my centering processes. 

Thank you!

Hi ChloeElizabeth!

You might pick up some technique watching others, at your studio and online (You Tube).

Starting out, a fully mixed ("wedged") clay ball gives you a better chance - no dryer or wetter bits in there, which will definitely disrupt the flow of clay. From there, well stuck to the bat (or wheel head) such that the clay doesn't shift around ...there's more, of course, just mentioning two factors that don't seem to get much attention.