Elem Art Teacher firing schedule

Hi everyone! 

I am an elementary art teacher working on a clay project as we speak. My admin seems a little uncomfortable with me firing during the day while students are in my room, so I am curious on if any others have found ways to get around this. 

I read somewhere that for a cone 04 bisque, another teacher was doing the initial long soak over night, turning the kiln off in the am, and then I guess doing the remainder of the firing over the following night.  I've never heard of this, but am curious if it is even possible - and if so, how to properly go about it. 

Thanks for all your help!

Terah

Does the kiln have a programmer?  Or do you have to turn switches as the firing progresses?

If programmer, set it to start as you leave for the day.  It will be done by the time you return in the morning.

I fire a kiln in a community centre, and they don't like the smell, so at midday on Wednesday it gets switched on with a 54 hour delay, and fires over the weekend when the craft room is not in use.  Works fine.

I wouldn't leave a kiln firing unattended other than for doing a candling (preheat).

What is it about firing that the admin is concerned about? Is the kiln vented? Is it located where children could accidentally come too close to it?

Hi Terah - what lucky kids, to have a ceramics studio in elementary school! 

That long soak may be the candling phase - keeping the kiln under 200F to make sure all of the ware is actually dry.  This is probably especially useful if the kids are making thick or heavy sculptures that might take weeks to dry on their own. So the overnight candling, followed by full day of drying out before firing probably helps in making sure the work doesn't crack or explode during the actual firing.