Hi, I'm new to making coloured slips. I have Mason stains, and am using white stoneware clay and also white earthenware clay.  I'm adding the Mason stain to a white slip and then sgraffito-ing it before bisque firing. I then use a transparent glaze. So far I've not been able to replicate the colour on the Mason stain tub. The first slip recipe I used was 75% ball clay, 25% china clay. The second was 35% ball clay, 30% china clay, 15% silica quartz and 20% feldspar potash. Neither worked very well. Please could anyone advise what the best ingredients for the white slip are, so that I can get a true colour when fired? Thanks!

Edited by Amy-Lou

Whatever you're putting the stain in can affect the color of the stain. That's true for clay or glazes. The percentage of stain will also affect the color. You'll want to test it from about 3% up to 20%, depending on how strong you want the color. How hot you fire and in what atmosphere will also affect the color. Many stains will color shift above low fire temps. Your clear glaze can also affect the color. For the best results as far as having the slip fit the clay body, you should make the slip out of your clay body.

1. How hot are your firing?

2. Oxidation or reduction?

3. What percentage stain are you using?

4. What glaze are you using?

(For the best results as far as having the slip fit the clay body, you should make the slip out of your clay body.)

yes this is best if you want whiter use a porcelain clay that shrinks the same as your clay body (same  or close shrinkage rate) and make that clay into a slip.

As Liam says,  follow the reference codes on the mason Stain http://www.masoncolor.com/reference-guide.

You need to use a slip base that accommodates which ever stain you are using AND use a glaze that will enhance the color. Mason stains are expensive. You need to use them according to Mason's guidelines. One size does NOT fit all. Val Cushing base for low temperature underglaze use was