TonyC

Rolling Pin Question/Recommendation

I was recently introduced to handbuilding over the weekend and am extremely inspired.   I am now looking to invest in some items, and find myself asking a seemingly silly question regarding rolling pins.   I know that I want a wider one (18"+), but noted that there are a variety of finishes and designs (e.g., lacquered, bare finish, metal bearings, plastic bearings,  NO bearings, etc.).

What matters for rolling out clay?   I am a hobbyist and do not have any large volume demands.   Any insight and information is welcomed.   Thanks.

T

Yeah, porous surfaces work waaaaay better.

If the clay is wet enough, it will stick to anything, but wood is kind of the standard. 

I had a colleague try and use some "Non-Stick" rolling pins.  I said, that the smooth surface would stick to the clay, and the claim of non-sticking was probably in reference to baking.  She swore they worked great.  She retired and the new teacher tried them.  He gave them away, and went back to the wood ones,  as he got sick of scrapping all the stuck clay off the surface.

Spend a few bucks and buy a solid maple,  18" to 24" rolling pin. This may take a little more to roll, but in the end it is easier to cut several pieces out of a large slab than to try to piece them. I had these in the HS I taught in until we bought a slab roller. Even then I had students use rolling pins and sticks to roll slabs as many times you do not have slab rollers.

When using rolling pins, do not grip the handles, as this is rough on your hands, use the hands open over the pin, even though the thumbs hook underneath. Keep your hands dry, and if necessary use some form of body powder as a lubricant.

best,

Pres

28 minutes ago, Pres said: