Firing to cone 10 with an electric kiln?!

Hi all,

I've been working with ceramics for a few years, but always at studios where all the glazes are mixed and my work is fired for me. And they've all been cone 10 gas reduction. I've just ordered a kiln (skutt KM-1027 Kiln 208V 1P w FK) and am looking for more information on firing the electric kiln to cone 10. From what i understand it wears out the elements quite quickly and uses a lot more electricity? This makes sense, but it also it seems like there's not a lot of glaze choices for cone 10 oxidation fire? I will probably switch to cone 6 at some point, but for now i still have a bunch of cone 10 clay and work drying so the first couple of fires may need to be to cone 10. If anyone can offer advice - pitfalls/ possibilities of firing to cone 10 in an electric kiln? Which glazes can i use? Any advice/ encouragement would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

Nic

1 hour ago, nic moore said:

but it also it seems like there's not a lot of glaze choices for cone 10 oxidation fire?

A quick search on Glazy brought up quite a few ^10 oxidation glazes. I kept the search parameters at Cone 10 and oxidation but it's somewhere to start.

1 hour ago, nic moore said:

From what i understand it wears out the elements quite quickly and uses a lot more electricity?

The hotter you go the faster the elements wear out. From the Kanthal Handbook on Euclids:

"The following guide has been provided by one wire manufacturer (Kanthal) to illustrate the effect of operating temperature (the figures are for wire temperature; kiln temperature will be approx. 28oC/50oF lower)" (they got the C and F reversed) 

1993901389_ScreenShot2019-09-30at10_58_33AM.png.d45c4fe2bad4bb245a81770e32a75cf1.png

It's super important to really condition the elements thoroughly, especially if you are high firing. Kanthal recommends a longer conditioning firing than what some kiln manufacturers use. From the same pdf as the chart above: