Trimming Hardened Clay

motox

Hi forum,

I am a newbie who just started doing clay 2 weeks ago. I have had some good lessons learned so far. But I am struggling after my clay has hardened with massive shrinkage.

Before I go on, I am using Air-Dry clay. Which they say hardens to Earthenware.

I added more layers around the piece to keep the clay from breaking (lots of cracks) but I have some other problems. The shrinking of the piece made some extensions of the part lift up or sideways, away from original design. Which are now rock solid. 

I would like to somehow trim some of it out (a good amount). Sanding sound like it will take ages. I have also thought about doing a horizontal drill where I get the drill to touch it the piece horizontally and remove some?

Basically clueless here and would appreciate any help. 

TLDR: I want to trim a lot of hardened clay from a piece. Is there something that's the equivalent of Hyper Sanding to get rid of a lot of meat?

I often trim bone dry clay by wiping the area to be trimmed with a wet sponge, and then scrap the surface with a trimming tool.  The wet area is kept small and shallow to prevent cracking.  Slow going, but after a some practice, a rhythm sets in and the wipe, scrape, wipe, scrape gets the job done.  I have no experience with Air-dry clay bodies, but expect the technique would work.  

LT

motox,  never touched air dry clay but it's name suggests that you must make everything perfectly the first time or lose it.   shrinkage happens with real clay too but this sounds really bad.

have you considered real clay?  is the problem that you do not have a way to fire real clay?    are you interested in becoming a potter or just trying to make one thing?

Hi everyone

Sorry for the late reply. I live in Australia, timing is upside down :P

Thanks to everyone who replied.