Hello all,

Looking for firing schedules. I have a small manual electric kiln with a kiln sitter and wondering if anyone has a simple, clear firing schedule they follow and could share?

I am a beginner trying to learn how to fire for Cone 04 Bisque and then another schedule for Cone 6 Glaze Fire. I am using buff stoneware. 

Any firing tips appreciated! 

Thanks so much,

Natalie

Sorry there isn't really a simple schedule for manual kilns.  Basically you turn it on low for a few hours, on medium for about twice as long and then high until the cone bends.

This is something you're going to have to do and take notes and hone as you get more experience.

Maybe a generalization would help - common 04 bisque schedules run 10 to 12 hours and glaze fire  say 5 to 8 hours. Armed with that knowledge you can begin turning knobs and trying to hit near the hour total then refine your technique based on results and firing time till you get the look you like. As you decrease the total glaze firing time for instance you may get a result you are not pleased with so now you know, too fast for your desired result.

bisque firing needs temperature and time to burn out all the organics. Various clays may require more or less time but a common safe bisque timeframe ends up 10-12 hours.

Hi Natalie!

Does your kiln have a pyrometer? ...very handy for monitoring temperature.

Regular contributor Glazenerd (former :() has posted guidelines for firing schedules here, e.g.

http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/17903-critical-firing-temperatures/ 

Your buff clay may not require as lengthy holds as very red/brown/dark clays; see also

http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/17882-blistering-bloating-coring/

I run my bisque load up to about 300F the night before; the next day, it's still warm (plenty dry), then I go full on with significant pauses at the three critical temperatures. I'd be lost without the pyrometer though...