Test resistance, or trust current reading on KM series kiln?

NoArtist

Hi, I am not an artist, but am helping my daughter set up a new studio in her garage. Or a garagio as I believe it is sometimes called here.  She has worked in a community studio for some time, and now wants more control over her work.  The plan is to slowly add to the studio and eventually transition to it over the next year or two.  She recently bought a used Skutt KM 1027 kiln which we wired up while I was visiting. This kiln has built in diagnostics, so I was wondering if regularly testing the element resistance is really needed most of the time. From the diagnostics screen you can have the kiln measure full load amps, voltage under load and unloaded, and the current through each set of element pairs individually. It does not seem to have an automatic resistance measurement, but these built in readings seem adequate for most day to day monitoring.

I checked the service manual, and it states that  an increase in resistance of more than 1.5 ohms indicated elements that need to be replaced.  For the elements in this kiln, that is about a 5 or 6 percent increase. Using ohms law, this would mean that a decrease in current of 5 or 6 percent would also indicate worn elements. If you have a kiln with built in diagnostics, shouldn't it be fine to just monitor any drop in current until you see a significant change?  My daughter certainly has a good quality multi-meter, and regularly checks the elements in her smaller Paragon kiln using it.  But the wiring on the small kiln is less complicated and easier to access. Unplugging the larger kiln and opening up the access panel to individually check the element resistance seems like overkill unless there is an indication of issue.  Particularly given the built in diagnostics. What do you folks do?