Frequency of sanding a potter's rib

Ceramic Human

How frequently do you sand your rib?  

15 members have voted

1. 1. How frequently do you sand your potter's rib?

• Multiple times per day
    • Almost never
    • Once a Week
    • Once a month

Hello! I am an operations manager at a ceramic company called MudLOVE. We make a lot of different ceramic pieces. We have several potters on site each day. One of our potters insists on sanding his wooden potter's rib every 14 mugs he makes. He has 5 ribs and spends 10-20 minutes each day sanding the ribs. He insists it is absolutely necessary. Our other potters do not do this. One uses a metal rib and another uses hard plastic. Is this standard practice for potters? Do they sand ribs THAT frequently?

54 minutes ago, Mark C. said:

He wants a sharp rib-let him have one-we all have our idiosyncrasies 

48 minutes ago, JohnnyK said:

Welcome to the forum, CH...Sounds like a case of OCD...if he does good work and produces to your level of expectation, what the heck...

Thanks so much for your quick feedback! This was very interesting to hear.

I'm also in charge of ordering supplies and we have to reorder ribs for him twice a month because he sands them into oblivion.  It would also seem unfair to make this concession for just one of our employees, effectively creating a lower standard (as far as number of pieces/day) for this one potter. 

If I were a business owner I would want to provide my employees with the tools they want so they can do their job without having to worry about their tools.  A wooden rib is really cheap, is it really a concession?  In that 10-20 minutes he's sanding  them, is he really making that many fewer pots?