How many times should I dip my pieces into my glaze

I'm just starting to learn about glaze making and firing on my own. The local ceramic shop told me that you should dip your pieces into glaze 2 times, but the videos I've been looking at usually show just one dip and I've yet to see one mention dipping twice unless you want to mix two glazes on the same piece. Assuming the correct viscosity (which I've been reading about) is one dip usually enough or is it unique to each glaze.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

4 minutes ago, John Damm said:

I'm just starting to learn about glaze making and firing on my own. The local ceramic shop told me that you should dip your pieces into glaze 2 times, but the videos I've been looking at usually show just one dip and I've yet to see one mention dipping twice unless you want to mix two glazes on the same piece. Assuming the correct viscosity (which I've been reading about) is one dip usually enough or is it unique to each glaze.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Depends on the glaze.  I never dip twice unless I'm dipping in two different glazes.  Instead of multiple dips, you can extend the amount of time the piece is submerged in glaze.  I do 3 seconds on my clear because it's a bit finicky when it gets thick, but I dip 6 seconds in cream breaking rust because it looks great thick.  Once you get some glaze mixed up you can do some test tiles with 3 and 6 second dips to see which one works best for your glaze.

Also make note of the thickness of your glaze. A glaze that's had the lid left off might end up a little thick after mixing. Either add water to keep your glaze to a specific consistency or make a mental note to hold it in for a shorter period of time. If you're a little extra particular about keeping your glaze really consistent you can measure the specific gravity. This number will essentially tell you the ratio of dry material to water.