New Potter

Hi everyone. I have been very interested in learning wheel throwing. I’ve never worked with any sort of pottery before except for 1 time at a pottery studio my son, we did a little private pottery class but it wasn’t a ton of teaching, more of an experience. I am wanting to know how did everyone learn. I am 36 and want to learn this art. Have any of you started learning later in life instead of really young? There is a lady that does 6 qty. 3 hour classes that will be starting soon. Does everyone start with classes or do some of you learn on your own? My husband is all for it and even said I can buy my own equipment if I wanted. That being said, if I take classes, I won’t get much practice in without my own equipment right? Any tips, info, suggestions will be really appreciated.  Thanks for any info... 

Hi Natalie!

Pres started a new question of the week on how long did learning to throw take - looks like the consensus converges on throwing skill bein' a lifelong journey!

Any road, likely many of the forum regulars will recommend class(es) to start, and access to equipment for regular practice.

In class, you might get some good instruction, see some good work being done, while meeting new folks as well and trying out throwing without a big investment.

I'd been interested in throwing for 'bout forty years, finally got into th' local JC last spring for Wheel I (I'm in Wheel II now); after a few months, we found a deal on a used (barely) wheel. A few months further on, we found a used kiln and made a trip to Aardvark Clay to pick up ~1200 pounds of clay, glaze ingredients, etc.