Can a kiln be on a wooden floor?

Hi all,

I am getting the wiring put in for an older Skutt kiln today, and I am putting it in a spare room - for electrical reasons, I cannot put it in the garage. I have a wooden floor, polyurethaned, in the room. Is this safe? If not, can I put the kiln on some ceramic tiles, or a slab of granite, etc., for safety? Thanks in advance for your help,

Nancy

Hi Marcia,

Thank you for your advice - I am not sure what spacers are, though? Sorry, I am new to this!

Nancy

You could put it on spacers on backer board. This creates an air space. Also it should be at east 18 inches from a combustible wall. It should be vented.

Personally, I'd put it outside on a covered patio.

Marcia

Hi all,

I am getting the wiring put in for an older Skutt kiln today, and I am putting it in a spare room - for electrical reasons, I cannot put it in the garage. I have a wooden floor, polyurethaned, in the room. Is this safe? If not, can I put the kiln on some ceramic tiles, or a slab of granite, etc., for safety? Thanks in advance for your help,

Nancy

I agree with Marcia that you should fire the kiln outside, perhaps on a covered patio. Many people do that. If you fire the kiln in a spare bedroom, you will need to vent the fumes outside anyway.

I don't think it is safe to fire a kiln on a wooden floor.

Sincerely,

Arnold Howard

Paragon Industries, L.P., Mesquite, Texas USA

ahoward@paragonweb.com / www.paragonweb.com

Hi all,

Nancy

I would not put a kiln on a wood floor for several reasons. Beyond the obvious(fire safety) there is another consideration. Constant kiln heat will dry out the wood fiber allowing more chance of rot and collapse of not only the floor but the floor joists as well. Even with spacers, and coverings the rise in heat at the floor will be detrimental to long term structure. Best to have it on concrete or even dirt, not wood.