Metallic lustres

vivk

Hi all

I have found very little on metallic lustre firing on google and even on this forum.Can anyone help me with lustre firings, techniques etc. I had a disappointing firing results this week- it was my local red earthenware and I applied the glaze too thin, resulting in lots of patches of red earthenware showing through. (fired to cone 03).I was wondering if I could refire the pieces with overglazes and lustres to cover up those areas. Anyone tried this successfully.I would so appreciate your input.

I’m not an expert on lustres, but have used them, following the directions on the bottle.  I think 03 is way too hot!  I apply gold lustre as an OVERglaze.  So  after the piece has been glazed and fired to vitrification,  I apply the lustre and fire to ^018 - ^020.  I don’t know if you applied the lustre too thin, but I think it may have burned off at the higher heat.  I’d suggest doing some test tiles just as you would any other work - bisque a dry tile, glaze, fire, apply lustre and re-fire to 018.  You’ll learn how much to apply, how thick it needs to be, without wasting a lot of the expensive lustre or ruining your work.

I hope someone else out there can add more...  Good luck!

You are better off reglazing and retiring then trying lusters to cover bare areas.

Refiring with more glaze is also a gamble but its better than lusters

Luster are super this and fire to cone 017 and 018

Lusters burn off at any hight temps.

Lusters work better on glazed surfaces and you said you have bare or thin spots .

15 hours ago, winstonzeddmore said: