QotW:  What is your favorite glaze effect?

JohnnyK recently posted the following question in the question of the week pool: What is your favorite glaze effect? No matter how intricate or simple your piece is  I feel that it is the glaze that makes it what it is. As such I am continually experimenting with various effects and getting a good response to what I am producing whether it is a bowl or horsehair Raku pot. What's in your bag of tricks?

In the last few years, I have been spraying glaze, and for many years I have been using an atomizer to spray patterns and textures on my forms. However, after some searching due to restlessness on my part and discussions with John Baymore and others about loosening up my work, I stated digging into the unshaped cylinders, then stamping them with objects, and doing other manipulations of the cylinders before shaping the pots. Often this caused big holes and failures, but later forms with texture that when glazed with the spray gun at different angles would become even more 3 dimensional and look more textured than actually were.  So for me, it is the texture near akin to low relief in sculpture, the  dip and spray effect that comes after, along with the angles of spraying that I am enjoying. The form and texture, and the glaze process is so linked they cannot really be separated.

best,

Pres

• Pres featured and pinned this topic