About slip casting

Hello everyone,

Been reading these forums for some time now but never took the time to make an account even when I had doubts about certain topics.

Im beginning a small slip casting business and, also, Im new to ceramics, although Ive been reading a LOT of information and been getting things done by trial and error.

My moldmaker told me I can cast 4 or 5 pieces in one day per mold, I understand that I would need to dry it afterwards but I really think it isnt true, since when I cast a 2nd piece from the same mold it sticks and I have to leave the piece in the mold a lot of time. Is it true you cant cast this quantity of pieces?

I have other questions but I dont want to be mistaken as someone who will only get a bunch of answers and never show again.

Thank you all!

The only way to cast more than once a day from a mould, is to dry it.  Drying needs air flow not heat.  Put the mould in front of a fan.

Good luck, I've never managed a successful cast more than daily in the summer, and twice weekly in the winter.  But I don't use a fan.

8 hours ago, Mark C. said:

(The only way to cast more than once a day from a mould, is to dry it.  Drying needs air flow not heat.  Put the mould in front of a fan.)

This is true unless you live in the Sahara Desert 

Actually you need to have both;  air flow to carry the vaporized moisture away from the mould;  and you need thermal energy (aka heat) to convert the solid plaster hydrates to dry plaster and vaporized moisture.    The temperature does not need to be significantly  increased, but the water does need heat to become vapor.   Warm dry air is all that is required  -  just a few degrees (5-10 degrees) above room temperature is adequate. 

2 hours ago, Magnolia Mud Research said: