Sign in to follow this  
Duende

Glaze firing for spoons and other flatware

Hello everyone, I’m a newbie here, my first post. I’m trying to find out how to make fully glazed spoons/salad servers.

The best solution I can find at the moment are some stilts with metal pins from Scarva. Hopefully they would just leave small pinprick marks in glaze? 

I’m handbuilding  in stoneware clay, planning to fire to 1240C. 

I’ve noticed that many spoons have been made with holes for hanging, but I gather that niochrome wire (sp?) would slump, under the weight? if I can’t find a solution for glazing fully I guess I’ll just glaze the spoons partially. Most of them I’ve inlaid slip patterns partially. Thanks for reading my query.

Edited by Duende
Adding tags, trying to reduce type size

Give up the glazed everywhere thought-place spoon on a soft brick laying down. Make a curve into the handle so it only touches at the top edge and the middle of spoon bottom - wipe off some glaze at these points-but you can leave a thin layer. Fire on the soft brick and grind /polish the touch points until smooth  after firing .I have done this with larger ladles for decades at 2,400 degrees (cone 11)

You can also hang from wire but leave the hole clean with no glaze on a bead rack.

Edited by Mark C.

I  Have never used a bead rack in my life.At cone 10 temps that stuff comes apart fast-

since you are firing to a lesser cone you could use one-If you have a lot of spoons forget the rack I thought you only had one or two.

Yes the wire will soon bend and they will slide into themselves

The soft brick works as the glaze breaks free of the brick (does not stick) and you smooth off the rough spots.