Troubleshooting Paragon Kiln

Wyatt

Hi,

I am helping a ceramicist friend who recently  bought a used Paragon Sentry 2.0 kiln. I am by no means an electrician or kiln repair person and so I have some questions.

We have done 2 test fires so far and both times the kiln temperature rose steadily and quickly until the FTH code appeared and the temperature stopped climbing and quickly stalled out. A kiln repair person came out and said that the elements are in good order and that it may be an issue of amperage from the panel. 

We are running the kiln off my garage sub-panel. The kiln is rated at 30 amps and the double breaker feeding the kiln from the sub-panel is also 30 amps.  And the breaker feeding the sub-panel from the house is also 30 amps. I have recently learned that code recommends that the circuit breakers be 125% of the required kiln amperage; so in this case the circuit breakers should be at least 37.5. Tomorrow I am going to replace the circuit breakers with 40 or 50 amp breakers. 

However, would this issue of amperage have caused the FTH code and the stalling out of the heating of the kiln? If it was an issue of amps wouldn't the circuit have simply tripped?

What else am I not thinking of/don't know?

Thanks!

From the Paragon Sentry 2.0 Controller Manual https://www.paragonweb.com/files/manuals/IM218_Sentry_RampHold_Manual_Mar2010.pdf

FTH / Failed to Heat ■ During a heating-up ramp, the programmed rate is faster than the kiln can heat. The temperature is below the set point temperature by more than the deviation setting. (See Temperature Deviation, page 17.) Program a slower rate. Or check for worn or burned out elements, defective relays, low voltage and defective thermocouples

As a starting point, I second Dick's advice to check the sufficiency of the wiring over length of run.  

BTW, the Sentry 2.0 is the type of controller, not the kiln model.