Olympic gas kiln - to buy or not to buy?

2Relaxed

Hello all,

I am considering to buy a used Olympic gas kiln "in excellent condition", it would be my first kiln (with the exception of my homemade raku kiln). Would appreciate some help and advice. I'm trying to find out the exact model from the seller, meanwhile - what other questions should I be asking?  

Many thanks!

I have had an updraft, 5 burner, 7 cu. ft. Olympic kiln for many years.  It has been mainly frustrating.  I have found it very difficult to get it to reduce evenly.  I have found it to

vary in temperature by as much as 3 cones.   Right now I fire to about a 61/2 and it is still cold at the top and bottom.  As a hobbyist I am not in a position to get another kiln but I would not recommend this one to anyone. Lin

1 hour ago, LinR said:

I have had an updraft, 5 burner, 7 cu. ft. Olympic kiln for many years.  It has been mainly frustrating.  I have found it very difficult to get it to reduce evenly.  I have found it to

vary in temperature by as much as 3 cones.   Right now I fire to about a 61/2 and it is still cold at the top and bottom.  As a hobbyist I am not in a position to get another kiln but I would not recommend this one to anyone. Lin

Thank you Lin. I don't know if I'm too optimistic because of how new I am to pottery (on my 4th year) or because I don't plan to do a lot of reduction, mainly oxidation. But the difference in temperature is concerning. Have you talked to Olympic about this?

These are really hard to fire evenly. The more burners the better.(at least 4 but 6 is better) You need to put a top shelve on top of everything and restrict the exit flue on the lid. The stacking needs to be right as well. They will never fire even but if you can live with say glazes that fire cool and out them in the cool spots and hot in the hot spots than maybe you can work with it.