Controlled Explode Trapped Air Void Pieces

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here with a question for experienced ceramicists. Serious, I'd like to make small pieces say from chicken egg to 15cm diameter max round / ovoid shapes using pinching to bring them to a fully sealed internal void. I've got the technique exac how I want it for constructing BUT my Tutor won't let me go ahead with firing pieces without holes pricked. The SOLE concept of this idea is to force the air out, creating whatever damage it may on the piece. My thinking is that as long as I keep the clay thin = less than 5mm and possibly ever so slightly uneven, this will simply push the air through the weakest point(s) and make a sort of 'forced hole' and / or cause the piece to crack apart - that is the exact point of what I want to achieve. I have a safety box for putting my work in the kiln.

However, Tutor is saying more along the lines that doing suchlike would be called making a b*mb and is totally disimpressed :o not to mention kiln techs at my college and they won't even coutenance the convo.

I feel misunderstood. Surely some air escaping (albeit forced) is just going to kind of *ahem* 'blow out' and affect the individual piece not actually blow up the entire college and wreck the kiln....... PLEASE can someone help me make a rational proposal to my Tutor and back it up with some science or something......

Cheers :ph34r: ** dodges bricks from lab techs and ceramics tutors **

Would like to point out I'm over 40 not under 14 and I take my conceptual work very seriously!

Guest The Unknown Craftsman

I think the concern might be that the pieces might not be fully dry, and might explode. See this thread for help with that :

http://ceramicartsdaily.org/community/topic/1771-options-for-drying-clay/