glaze mixing classes

I am relatively new at this "mud thing" and I want to mix my own glazes , but, I have not the faintest idea how to start,I get intimidated at just the thought of it, I've NEVER had any chemistry in my life, commercial glazes seem to be too expensive, plus they are too commonplace, can anyone explain in easy to understand directions? HELPPPPPPP please, it will be appreciated, P.S. does anyone know of any classes in mixing glazes in the North Mississippi area

Check with your local pottery studio (or neighborhood potter with studio in their home) and ask if they will let you watch/help the next time they mix glazes. It's really not that hard. Some studios offer "glaze kitchen" services; you pay to use their facilities, equipment (scales, sieves, etc.) and materials. You will need a good respirator, though.

Commercial glazes aren't all that bad. They can be layered or even mixed to come up with different colors, just keep track of the percentages of the different glazes. I, too, don't have 'chemistry', space to store all the dry ingredients, and maybe the discipline necessary. All the different ways of applying glazes can change how any one of the commercials look when fired.

I have purchased glazes that I've intensly disliked and yet after mixing them with others ended up with some real winners. One example was called Cola Green. I didn't like it on my clay body, so mixed some with an end-of-a-bucket matte white and came up with a great beanpot brown.

Remember, if you start mixing your own glazes, the first thing to buy is a good respirator. Stay healthy, and good luck!

Commercial glazes aren't all that bad. They can be layered or even mixed to come up with different colors, just keep track of the percentages of the different glazes. I, too, don't have 'chemistry', space to store all the dry ingredients, and maybe the discipline necessary. All the different ways of applying glazes can change how any one of the commercials look when fired.