Newby Question - use of slip for glazing

Nili

Apologies for the stupid question - I'm very very new to this :)

Can I use slip at the greenware stage instead of glaze for drinking cups/mugs, or will they leak? The reason I'm asking is that I want my mugs to have a very thin matte finish. Maybe there is a better way to achieve that?

Thank you and I'm sorry if the question is too stupid.

Nili

I love a matte finish. There are beautiful matte glazes you can use that fire at Cone 5 or 6. You might look at the Laguna website at theirs. I have several of them.

I also have very matte glazes from Amaco that work better on the outside of mugs and bowls , because they have a course texture, than they do inside.

There are also matte clear glazes you can put over colored slips, if you like your colored slips.

What type of clay are you using, lowfire, or mid or high? Also, do you know how vitrified it gets? (absorption figures from the supplier if you haven't run your own test) I'm assuming you are just talking about using slip on the outside of the cups / mugs?

BTW it's not a stupid question at all! Welcome to the forum :)

chilly has pointed out one of the real drawbacks of matte glazes on interiors.  in addition, cleaning matte interiors, especially with things like coffee and tea, is a real pain.  i have had some matte cups and must use bleach to remove the discoloration.  not a pleasant thing to do.

just fyi, i have a matte glazed commercial dinnerware set made by Mikasa.  you would think they know what they are doing.  not so.  the plates get cutlery marks every time  i use them.  matte glazes are just not worth it.

think about slip.  it is only clay that is extremely wet.  maybe it has color but it is still just clay.

janetjean,  do not think i am criticizing you.    this very complex subject and you are probably used to finding fast answers to any question using a computer.