Clay Becomes Off-Center When Opening

Hey all, brand new here so I'm not sure about tags, etiquette, or if this is the right place for questions so feel free to correct any errors on my part.

So, I have been practicing throwing at every opportunity for the last couple of months. I have been taking a general ceramics class, but the teacher is really a handbuilding person and the throwing stuff is mostly left as a "do it if you want to" sort of thing, and they leave the throwing students to their own devices. As a result, I am almost entirely self-taught, and learned almost everything I know about throwing from this guy - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjqCOLOIp8HKkBxBuiQFTdw, and this guy https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTkXls_DXtwl9f2lt5qmosw. I'm certainly much better than I was when I started, I can center relatively quickly and I can throw bowls and mugs with little difficulty. Lately however I have been having trouble with the clay appearing centered, but then when I start to open it, or push the floor out the walls start to oscillate.

I open by pushing my thumb straight down into the center of the clay, before angling my thumb to push the hole out into a cone shape and then using my fingers to widen the base. Somewhere in this process is when the oscillation starts. It's not so bad that I can't do anything with the clay, I can still make the aforementioned bowl or mug but anything more complex like a vase tends to fall apart, not to mention it tends to mar the look of the piece. Sometimes, I can force the oscillation to the top of the wall and then cut it off, but this seems like more of a temporary solution. What could be causing this, and what can I do to prevent it?

Edit: I felt I should mention that during the opening process, I keep my off-hand applying light pressure on the outside of the clay.