Clay choices

Hi I am new to clay and throwing and starting out I got Amac oA-11 mix white stoneware clay and while I know I am still learning this clay seems extremely finicky in terms of water and how fast I throw ( beginner, so think more water and slower) . I threw a bowl the other day with a porcelain clay by New Mexico Clay and no problems at all, went home tried the exact same thing that I did in class, clay everywhere!

has anyone used this clay ( Amaco) andany issues you found with it? Thanks for your help

5 hours ago, DBArtworks said:

Hi I am new to clay and throwing and starting out I got Amac oA-11 mix white stoneware clay and while I know I am still learning this clay seems extremely finicky in terms of water and how fast I throw ( beginner, so think more water and slower) . I threw a bowl the other day with a porcelain clay by New Mexico Clay and no problems at all, went home tried the exact same thing that I did in class, clay everywhere!

has anyone used this clay ( Amaco) andany issues you found with it? Thanks for your help

(moved this over from Forum FAQ and Help Topics)

Every clay body is different, even within categories. That is, not all porcelain bodies are the same, not all white stoneware bodies are the same. Every clay company has their own formulas. You'll find a lot of bodies you don't like, and a lot that you do. You just need to keep testing until you find one you like.

• 4 weeks later...