Old Kiln/New Potter

Genboomxer

Hello All,

I am very new to ceramics, but I am keen to learn as much as I can.  I recently acquired a gas kiln in as-is condition, and I need to know what to do to make it safe to use. It is completely manual and has no modern safety or control features.

It is a Cerami Craft kiln of late 60's to early 70's vintage.  All I have been able to find online for this particular kiln are a couple of ads from old trade magazines from '72.  It also came with a booklet that is more of a guide for use than actual instructions.

• 7 cu ft
  • 5 burners underneath
  • Natural gas
  • 2 peep holes
  • Manual damper on top
  • 1 WC gauge
  • Retrofitted "Pilot ring" which looks a bit sketchy to me
  • Manual Orton Pyrometer

It came with shelves, furniture, and several boxes of various pyrometric cones. I was told the last time it fired was spring of '17. It was a single owner kiln and used 3 -4 times / year since it was new, according to the previous owner. The burners are interesting, and very basic in design: essentially a split steel cup venturi that holds a ceramic cylinder.

Before I fire this antique up, I want to make sure I have a functional and safe tool.   (BTW - I am aware the liner between the sheet metal and bricks is asbestos). Total $ invested so far in this project has been the cost of moving it from its previous home of ~50 years to my backyard, so I have a bit in the budget to upgrade. I definitely would like to do some upgrades for convenience and safety, so all suggestions are welcome. I am also not sure whether I need a permit to run a kiln in my city.  The codes on their website are not very specific.

Please refer to attached photos for an idea of what it looks like. I could only attach 2 in this post.

OK experts, fire away!

IMG_0113.jpg

IMG_0110.jpg

Hi Mark,

I will attach more photos to answer your questions. It is pivot-hinged at one side and swivels open.