How Would I Make This… Stamp? Medallion?

Hey there. I'm new to ceramics, but I'm getting into it quickly. I looked around on the forums for this question, but I didn't see exactly what I was looking for. (Maybe I just didn't know the right name.)

I'm trying to make something on my mugs much like the graphic detail on this Maryland Renaissance Festival mug. It's raised, smoothed into the mug surface on the outside, but has very fine detail on the inside:

post-86606-0-93588000-1499974444_thumb.jpg post-86606-0-76254700-1499974483_thumb.jpg

What is this sort of element called, and can you point me to info on how one might go about adding such a detail to a piece?

Thanks!

The decoration on the mug looks like a type of sprig. Sprigging is the addition of a stamped or modeled object on to a pot. This could have been done with a rubber stamp, a plaster bar relief mold or some other basically flat image. The stamped piece is then added to the pot using slip between the two piece of cheese to leather hard clay. All before drying, and firing. Careful glazing is needed to make certain that the sprig is not obscured with the glaze. This includes the type of glaze, the thickness of glaze and the application of the glaze.

best,

Pres