High Fire, Then Pit Fire? Food Safe?

Hello! Is it possible to high fire a glaze on the interior of a cup and around its lip, and to then pit fire? I'm trying to find a way to make pit-fired cups food/water-safe! I'm assuming that this process wouldn't affect the high-fire glaze, but perhaps the outside (unglazed) body would no longer be able to take in the marvelous colors produced in a pit fire? I'm new to this process, but will be doing a ton of experimenting over the coming months with local blue clay that I've begun harvesting. Thanks for any insights!

High firing the clay will tighten up and quite possibly vitrify the clay you are using. I doubt that any effects produced in a pit firing process after that will be permanent (particularly if the object is in functional use, eg dishwashers, etc.), but actual pit-firers reading this can confirm or not. However, I would suggest that the first step would be to find out more about your found blue clay. Can it even take a high firing, and more generally when does it mature? Have you tested it yet?

I have not tested the blue clay yet and will need to do that as soon as its dry enough to work with.. Thanks for the help! I also reached out to another professional ceramicist who had this to say: 

I never make any guarantees about predicting what clay may or may not do. It continues to surprise me all the time and I encourage experimenting. Presumably if you are firing a stoneware clay to high temperatures (i.e. Cone 8-10) then you are vitrifying the clay and it isn't going to change significantly in a lower temperature firing environment. That being said, a pit fire may be a reduction atmosphere and cause the clay to go black or purple. Also, any soluble salts that could be introduced due to the fuel or soil might cause further color changes. Keep in mind if a clay body is vitrified then it can be food safe without a glaze and that just because a glaze is high fire doesn't necessarily mean it is food safe.