Looking For Cress Kiln Review

Potter3ee

Hi guys. I am looking at buying a small kiln to fire pottery. The one I think will work for me is the Cress FX1814HPF Kiln which fires to cone 10. I wanted to ask if anyone has experience using it? I have never used a kiln before by myself. Is it easily understandable? Can I fire ceramic pottery in it? Any advice is welcome. Thanks

This is the description --

The Cress FX1814HPF electric kiln fires to 2,350°F on 208 or 240 volts. This 1.84 cubic foot kiln features a 2.5" firebrick, and high power elements.
The FX1814HPF, and all Cress Firemate kilns, is equipped with a kiln sitter, limit timer, two position lid-venting prop and insulated peepholes.
Firemate kins have a patented control with reduced heath-shock firing curve, thumbwheel power adjustment, and a automatic/manual firing mode switch.

Yep, that'll fire pottery just fine. Is this a new or used kiln? If it's new, there's really no sense buying a kiln that's not digital. They're easier to use, easier to maintain, and give you a lot more firing options. If you're looking at a used kiln, that's a great way to save money. Just make sure the bricks are in good condition.

FYI The kiln I just ordered is available for 208v and 240v. I went with the 240v and had a 240 circuit installed. My electrician said it would be less expensive to operate the kiln on 240 vs 208. Might be common knowledge to others, but it was news to me. :)

Wrong. You need a new electrician. The cost of firing isn't affected by the voltage or phase of the electrical service. Voltage x amps = watts. Watts are what heat up the kiln, and are also what you pay for. 208 volt kilns often pull more amperage to achieve the watts needed to heat up the kiln. Single phase or 3 phase doesn't matter, either, because the watts come out the same.