To Wholesale Or Not?

Hello all, 

I've been asked by a shop owner if I sold wholesale.  I'm still new at selling my ceramics, and never even thought about this possibility.  I've asked around, and read the forums on wholesale pricing and whatnot, but I'm still not sure how to approach this.

I'm a small batch potter, having had only the ability to hand build until now.  She inquired about my mugs, which I sell for 30$.  They are slab built, with sgrafitto design on them.  That said, it would be hard for me to justify making a bulk load of hand built mugs for half the price.

I had one potter friend give me a breakdown of prices, but he is a production potter and sells his logo mugs to cafés etc....  another potter friend told me it would be better to do consignment at whatever percentage the boutique would be willing to do.

I'm not sure how many she would like to purchase, but I'm sure a boutique won't be buying 20-50 mugs.   

I would hate to lose this possibility as this would be my first time selling my ceramics in a shop and it's very exciting!!  I've only ever sold at markets and via etsy.

She's waiting on me to get back to her.  Hopefully some of you experienced potters here could provide some insight to a newbie! 

:) 

Thanks!! 

Laurène

I think what you have to do is try and honestly add up your time and see if $15 works out financially for you. Selling at markets has additional cost such as booth fees, travel and labor hours selling to consider so your not really getting 100% when you sell in that venue either. At the end of the day you can blend the various ways you sell and see what your overall average is. I find that pots I sell myself easily cost 25-30% for me to sell when truly everything is factored in.