L&l Easy Fire Kiln Relays

DanB

I'm new to this, I'm trying to help with Kiln repair.  My friends have an L&L easy fire kiln.  Last firing it could not get up to temp.  It seems to me the middle elements are not getting power, it appears the relay is the problem.  The relay is a double pole relay.  (does it need to be?)  Checking with a meter, half the relay still works.  My thought is to just bypass the other half so that one side of the relay could energize the element.  I wonder why they are double pole relays to begin with, I'm inclined to parallel the poles for all the elements so that there is redundancy.  Meaning... one end of the element is always connected to 240V, the other end is turned on and off by the relay.  I don't understand why why two connections are necessary.

If you do not understand basic high voltage electrical theory and practice for kiln operations, you should not be trying to "repair" a kiln by hotwiring the relay. If a relay is broken (which is fairly common), then it should be replaced with a similar relay. Because you have already demonstrated that you don't know how a kiln or its relays work, you should buy the new exact replacement relay from a reputable ceramic supplier or kiln repair shop. Do not try to pick out a new one yourself, you will probably pick out the wrong one. Replacing a relay is fairly simple - a couple of screws hold it in place and just swap the wires from the old broken one onto the same terminals on the replacement, and then mount the new one back in the same place with the same screws.