Bailey Quick Trim Bat

Hi, ClayDame. You should probably repost this in the "In the Studio Forum" instead of the Potters Council forum. You'll probably get some answers here, but would get more in the correct forum. I'm looking forward to seeing what everyone has to say as I've seen the product also and am curious if anyone has tried it.

Hi, ClayDame. You should probably repost this in the "In the Studio Forum" instead of the Potters Council forum. You'll probably get some answers here, but would get more in the correct forum. I'm looking forward to seeing what everyone has to say as I've seen the product also and am curious if anyone has tried it.

Thanks scoobydoozie. I'll do that. Obviously, I'm new to this forum to! haha!

I'm fairly new to pottery and find trimming a real hassle. Has anyone tried the Bailey Quick Trim Bat? What's your opinion of it?

I'm back into pottery after a 25 year layoff and one of the FIRST things I did was scout around for anything that would shorten and/or simplify the trimming process.

I ordered the Bailey Quick Trim bat and cannot recommend it highly enough! The challenge is still getting the pot centered for trimming, but once you've done it, the quick release magnets

hold the piece beautifully (they're cushioned so you don't damage the piece) and you'll whip through the process in no time!

I'm now planning to get the larger bat for platters and large bowls. Let there be no hesitation in your mind -- this is one FINE product!!

Art Carlson

Whistle Tree Pottery

There are tons of us that use the Giffin Grip which automatically centers your pots. It even has an arrangement whereby you can center and hold altered pots that are no longer round. Is the Bailey Quick Trim that much cheaper and is the price difference worth having trouble centering your pots?