Help With Mixing Laguna Dry Glazes

GiselleNo5

I'm new to mixing the Laguna dry glazes and Im having a hard time finding specific instructions. I'll be pouring so I'm wondering if anybody has the specific gravity or any other way to determine the correct pouring consistency.

Before anybody suggests it, I have requested this information from the manufacturer more than once. I have been referred back to the online instructions which say to add "between 8 and 11 ounces of water per pound of dry glaze". I need more specific instructions than that.

The glazes I'm looking for help with are:

Power Turquoise

Antique Jade

Clear Bright

Spring Green

Navy Blue

Peach Blush

Blackberry Wine

The reason they are being vague is because glaze ingredients, clay/bisque, water and personal preference all come into the question 'what should the surface gravity be' 

You can only determine what you want it to be my mixing up different consistencies and seeing how they apply for you. Then once you have that perfect slop you measure the surface gravity to have some reproducible value.

I have been testing but I was hoping for a starting point at least. 

It's all right anyway because in between posting this and checking back I have made the decision to switch over to Amaco. I have been very happy with their glazes every time I use them, which are very consistent and pleasant to use. 

+1 for what has already been said about testing.

I've only used one commercial glaze, the Laguna Clear Bright, about 10 years ago. Unless it has changed you will need to add some macaloid or some other suspension agent, it hardpans in seconds otherwise. That one can be mixed skim milk thin.