Just getting started

I'm new to the clay community, I thought I would introduce myself and share a few pieces.

I bought a kiln a couple months ago and started doing some experimenting with pottery. I made my own slab roller and started out making plates with my kids.

Its a blast! I have a huge work table on wheels in the shop 4' x 10' where we work together, turn some tunes on and just hang with me girls.

Lotta giggling and I love that sound!! :D

This is considered functional art; you can use em as dinnerware and I intend on using the serving platter but for the most part the stuff is for looking at as art.

A large serving platter, I mixed two different clays together for effect, I'll use a semi-transparent glaze so I don't cover it up.

Its about 12" by 18" and 5/16" thick.

100_3493.jpg

100_3492.jpg

The small bowls were formed over other bowls. Relatively free-formed.

As well with the plates, just formed over other plates.

100_3484.jpg

100_3488.jpg

again mixed clays,

100_3487.jpg

This one I did off center and used a rag to impart some delicate wrinkles that will fill with glaze and produce interesting effects when fired

100_3486.jpg

My girls think I'm a little nuts for this one, its my 'spilling bowl'

100_3490.jpg

100_3485.jpg

I envision it on my dresser gently holding my wallet, keys and spare change while I slumber. I liked it so much I went out last night and made a couple more similar. I'll have a full kiln next weekend.

Sam made a 'peace-Love' plate:

100_3489.jpg

Last night the three of us made a few more pieces, Ill get more pics later.

Yeah, I have had a few plates warp, some a great deal. I found if I leave em in the form overnight the warping is minimized.

Last night my daughter got on board with the 'art' and abstract aspect and created this:

100_3501-2.jpg

100_3502-1.jpg