Clay Canes

OffCenter

I have been working with colored porcelain canes for twenty years. They cannot be reduced and keep their design integrity the way polymer clay does.

You can reduce some patterns if you go very slowly but most times it is Impossible to keep the pattern true from end to end. Stripes reduce very well.

I also teach workshops on working with canes so I have seen many people try it ... Sometimes the reduced pattern ends up more interesting than the original, but seldom the same.

I have been working with colored porcelain canes for twenty years. They cannot be reduced and keep their design integrity the way polymer clay does.

You can reduce some patterns if you go very slowly but most times it is Impossible to keep the pattern true from end to end. Stripes reduce very well.

I also teach workshops on working with canes so I have seen many people try it ... Sometimes the reduced pattern ends up more interesting than the original, but seldom the same.

Thanks, Chris. I was hoping you would comment.

Jim

Making work with canes large and small gets very addictive.

Some of my "canes" have been 16" across and 24" high. One slice made a plate.

Others are tiny so a group of thirty makes the center of one flower.

I teach mainly to get more potters interested in using the process ... I want to see where new people will go with their ideas. I have barely scratched the surface of what could be done with ingenuity and new technology.

Making work with canes large and small gets very addictive.

Some of my "canes" have been 16" across and 24" high. One slice made a plate.

Others are tiny so a group of thirty makes the center of one flower.

I teach mainly to get more potters interested in using the process ... I want to see where new people will go with their ideas. I have barely scratched the surface of what could be done with ingenuity and new technology.