ceramic panels- found, or made?

Hello ceramicists!

I actually haven't worked with ceramics for many years, going all the way back to early college years.

I'm a fine artist, primarily a painter, and i've recently been inspired by a particular work I saw, to make a similar structure to use as a ceramic "canvas."

I'm essentially interested in panels- in the shape of stretched canvas - that have a glazed white surface, which i'll then use as a painting/mixed media surface.

My question, then, is: can objects similar to this be found at certain stores, or ordered? Or do they need to be made? And if so, should I just look up the local ceramic shop, or? I realize this could involve an investment in getting into ceramic-making again, but I'm hoping to find the most direct, time-economic route possible...

If there's a better section of the forum to be posting this question, just let me know and I'll post it there.

many thanks in advance for any feedback-

Michael

Hello ceramicists!

I actually haven't worked with ceramics for many years, going all the way back to early college years.

I'm a fine artist, primarily a painter, and i've recently been inspired by a particular work I saw, to make a similar structure to use as a ceramic "canvas."

I'm essentially interested in panels- in the shape of stretched canvas - that have a glazed white surface, which i'll then use as a painting/mixed media surface.

My question, then, is: can objects similar to this be found at certain stores, or ordered? Or do they need to be made? And if so, should I just look up the local ceramic shop, or? I realize this could involve an investment in getting into ceramic-making again, but I'm hoping to find the most direct, time-economic route possible...

If there's a better section of the forum to be posting this question, just let me know and I'll post it there.

Michael

Hello Michael

Here are some links that will answer most of your questions about ceramic canvas and how to use it.