stacking greenware in the kiln

I've never stacked platters and plates on top of each other (without plate setters) for a bisque firing in my electric kiln -- worrying that they might warp. Am I right to think this, or can I safely stack plates and platters on top of each other and expect them to come out of the kiln the same shape they went in? I'm a newbie...but am trying to fire more efficiently. I'm using cone 6 white stoneware -- bisquing to cone 04. Thanks for any advice.

I've never stacked platters and plates on top of each other (without plate setters) for a bisque firing in my electric kiln -- worrying that they might warp. Am I right to think this, or can I safely stack plates and platters on top of each other and expect them to come out of the kiln the same shape they went in? I'm a newbie...but am trying to fire more efficiently. I'm using cone 6 white stoneware -- bisquing to cone 04. Thanks for any advice.

You can stack them lip to lip or stack them nested inside the one below with a good bed of grog to eliminate stress and warping.

I have done it both ways. If the lips are thin or weak, nest them.

Make sure they are good and dry.

Marciia

Thanks Marcia. For my pieces nesting seems like the best option.

I would NOT go over 4 or 5 depending on how they feel...if they are heavy, etc. Put the heaviest on the bottom and so forth.

Lip to lip...same considerations...maybe 3 sets...depends on the thickness especially the lips.

Marcia

Thanks Marcia. For my pieces nesting seems like the best option.

I would go over 4 or 5 depending on how they feel...if they are heavy, etc. Put the heaviest on the bottom and so forth.

Lip to lip...same considerations...maybe 3 sets...depends on the thickness especially the lips.

Marcia

Marcia, I'm sure you meant to say .... 'not' go over 4 or 5 depending... wink.gif

Sometimes those quick, light touches on the keyboard just don't seem to trigger any electrical impulses...biggrin.gif