Budget For New Studio

Hello, I am new to the discussion. I am currently starting a budget for glaze chemicals. I need this information for my Senior Project at college. The temperture I will fire to will be cone 6. I also would like information regarding make my own clay or buying remade clay body. I remember seeing a list for the bare minimum but do not remember where the list is posted. Any help would be appreciated. thank you.

The first thing to do is look at your glazes and decide if you can get by with one or two base recipes with varying colorants for variety. Then figure out what you would need for the quantities you like to use..if you need 5 gallons or can use less amounts for the mix. Frits are expensive. Silica, ball clay and most kaolin are relatively less expensive.

As for clay, that also depends..if you like porcelain, that is expensive. If you can purchase 1000 pounds ot 2000 pounds at a time, you save money. I would check with your local supplier to see what their rates are.

If you can recycle your scraps back into a workable state, you save there.

Marcia

I think you have to begin with what you want to make ... This will define what equipment you need.

Then determine which clay you will need and how you want to fire

Then go to how you want to glaze it ... This will determine what glazes you need.

Then you need to know how much income you need to live on ...

Which determines how many you need to make ...

Which is the multiplier for clay and glaze cost calculations.

Are you budgeting for a one-person studio, or a group studio, or an institution-sized studio?