Jump to content

crazypotterlady

Members
  • Posts

    51
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About crazypotterlady

  • Birthday April 14

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    http://facebook.com/melanieliottadistinctivestoneware

Profile Information

  • Location
    Cobb, CA
  • Interests
    I live on a mountain in a small rural county, so I like to hike with my dogs, which I do everyday. I love to read, play the piano, take care of my 20 mo old identical twin granddaughters, and of course to POT!!

Recent Profile Visitors

3,064 profile views

crazypotterlady's Achievements

Advanced Member

Advanced Member (3/3)

23

Reputation

About Me

I have been working with clay since my first pottery class in my senior year of college ('69). My degree is in art and my mentor/professor encouraged me to take all my required art curriculum before delving into clay, so my entire senior year was all pottery. HEAVEN!! I was hooked!!

 

I first worked in ^6 until I got a position as a potter for a pottery shop in Los Gatos, CA (Mud in Your Eye from '74- '80), where we fired a 30 cu' downdraft ^10 reduction. I continued in ^10 reduction until this year when I completed the transition back to ^6.

 

By the late 80s, I found it too difficult to make enough money off of my pottery, so I went back to college and got my teaching credential. I started off wanting to be a high school art teacher, but I live in a very small rural county with only 7 high schools, each with one art teacher, so the odds of getting a job were slim. I changed to elementary and got a job in '88, teaching 5/6 grade, which meant I could only do pottery, in my 10 cu' Olympic updraft, during the summer. I did do a lot of clay work with my students and teaching teachers, but it was all ^06 done at school.

 

I started the transition to ^6 in the mid-90s.  I bought a small electric kiln (3 cu') and started experimenting with color, first a dark clay body with a wax design and opaque colored glazes, then a dark body with colorful underglazes with sgraffito. Over the years my ^6 work has represented an evermore proportion of my work.

 

I retired from teaching in '13, and last year in my first major art fair (Mendocino Coast) outside my local area, 90% of what I sold was ^6.  It's a new look and I now have the time to develop this new style. I'm getting ready for the same fair, again, and all I'm bringing is ^6. We'll see how it goes.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.