Jump to content

GEP

Members
  • Posts

    2,402
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by GEP

  1. I, too, have just had the best show of my career. What a year for potters everywhere!

    1. Show previous comments  8 more
    2. Marko

      Marko

      Congratulation!!!

       

    3. GiselleNo5

      GiselleNo5

      Mark: Only one? ;)

       

    4. Marko

      Marko

      And, congratulations for being on the cover of Pottery Illustrated with a 3 page spread inside. Man, it's your year indeed. Feel good dance is in order.

  2. ^ Agree with Rex. Before you try drilling new holes, give them a call and explain the problem.
  3. Are they HydrO-bats or HydrA-bats? Those are two different products, with different types of holes.
  4. dirtroads, thank you for sharing the details and the timeline. Very informative. Your buildings are so charming and inviting!
  5. To update your avatar ... upload the image you want into your gallery. Then select the option "Set as photo"

    1. Show previous comments  1 more
    2. Marcia Selsor

      Marcia Selsor

      OK!!! it worked. Had to publish it in my gallery first then go to options.

       

    3. Mark C.

      Mark C.

      It was not smooth-it but worked

    4. Joseph Fireborn

      Joseph Fireborn

      Thanks, worked easily.

  6. GEP

    Mea's pots 2014

    Recent work photographed in January 2014.
  7. Just finished my last show of 2014. Gonna put my feet up and relax until 2015.

  8. Photos from my latest wood-firing on my blog: http://www.goodelephant.com/blog/a-decade-long-quest

    1. Show previous comments  2 more
    2. Marcia Selsor

      Marcia Selsor

      I agree. WOW! Nice pieces , Mea!

       

       

    3. GEP
    4. Roberta12

      Roberta12

      Absolutely beautiful. Are they are smooth as they look? Gorgeous!

  9. Nytal was still available until the supplies ran out a couple years ago. It does not contain asbestos, it was the unfortunate loser of a lawsuit. Someone claimed Nytal caused them mesothelioma, and won the lawsuit even though it was not proven. Manufacturer had to close the mine. But anyways the gray talc might work just fine in your glazes. They will look different in the bucket, but fire the same.
  10. I got nervous when my local supplier ran out of Nytal and started carrying the gray talc instead. But I've found that at cone 6 the gray color completely disappears, and the satin matte surfaces are exactly the same.
  11. This FAQ listing will be updated periodically. If you have any suggestions for threads that should be added here, send me a PM. -Mea
  12. Making a Living How To Actually Support Yourself http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/5186-how-to-actually-support-yourself/ Does Anyone Out There Truly Support Themselves With Their Ceramics/Pottery? http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/1034-does-anyone-out-there-truly-support-themselves-with-their-ceramicspottery/ Most Difficult Aspect of Making a Pottery Business Work http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/6436-most-difficult-aspect-of-making-a-pottery-business-work/
  13. Pricing Your Work This is a complicated and murky subject. No clear answers here, other than "the more you do it, the easier it gets." Going Price of Mugs http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/12297-going-price-of-mugs/ Pricing Artwork to Sell http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/3040-pricing-artwork-to-sell/ Another Pricing Topic http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/5089-another-pricing-topic/ Your Labour Cost http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/5704-your-labour-cost/
  14. Online Selling Members with Etsy Stores? http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/12164-members-with-etsy-stores/ Selling Anything on Etsy http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/4308-selling-anything-on-etsy/ How Are Your Managing Your Web Resources? http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/5739-how-are-you-managing-your-web-resources/
  15. Working with Galleries, Wholesale and Consignment Consignment, Reasonable Expectations http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/5539-consignment-reasonable-expectations/ Wholesale Payments http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/5419-wholesale-payments/ Gallery Etiquette http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/3985-gallery-etiquette/ When To Leave a Gallery http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/3913-when-to-leave-a-gallery/ Wholesale Crafts Dot Com http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/5771-wholesale-crafts-dot-com/
  16. Art Festivals Show Me Pictures of Your Show Shelving http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/4214-show-me-pictures-of-your-show-shelving/ How Do Your Figure Out How Much to Bring To a Show http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/5240-how-do-you-figure-out-how-much-to-bring-to-a-show/ How Bad Can It Get: Craft Show War Stories http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/5290-how-bad-can-it-get-craft-show-war-stories/ Packaging Up Purchases at Art Fairs http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/5224-packaging-up-purchases-at-art-fairs/ How To Keep Cash At Shows http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/4916-how-to-keep-cas-at-showsale/ Craft Shows ... Tips For Success http://community.ceramicartsdaily.org/topic/6375-craft-shows-tips-for-success/
  17. Are advertisements allowed on the Ceramic Arts Daily Forum? No. Our motto is "Talk business, don't do business." Please use this phrase to guide you. Another way to think about it is to ask yourself "Do I stand to gain financially from this post?" If the answer is yes, please don't do it. Why are advertisements not allowed on CAD Forum? This forum exists for discussion, information exchange, and community building. If we allow users to buy and sell goods and services here, many people would come here only for that. There are numerous other places on the internet for this. Anyone who wishes to purchase a classified ad, to appear in Ceramics Monthly and on the Ceramic Arts Daily website, can do so here: http://ceramicartsdaily.org/ceramics-monthly/classifieds/ Can you provide some specific examples? You may not promote your own goods or services, or those of any business with which you are affiliated. You may provide opinions and recommendations (good or bad) about products and services with which you are not affiliated, and if you do not stand to gain from your opinion. You may include a link to your website, and/or your online store, in your Signature. Your Signature, along with your About Me blurb and your Photo Gallery, is part of your Profile. The purpose of your Profile is to allow other users to learn more about you, and it is not considered part of the conversation stream. If your Profile inspires another user to buy your work offlist, that's ok. In the body of a post, you may include a link to your own website, and other websites. However, the content of the post must not contain a "buy it" message. Please note that the following types of links are generally not allowed in the body of a post: a link to your own online store, or to an ad on PotterBarter, Craigslist, eBay (or similar websites). In most cases these links will be deleted, regardless of the context. Posts that are of a fundraising nature, including crowdsourcing campaigns, are also not allowed on this forum, even if you are promoting a fundraising campaign that is not your own. On rare occasions, a post will fall into a gray area, and a judgement call will be used to determine if it qualifies as an advertisement, or not. But the examples above cover the vast majority of all the cases we have reviewed. Are there any exceptions? Yes. You are allowed to promote legitimate ceramics-related events (e.g. classes, workshops, exhibitions, festivals, etc.), in the Events section of the forum. This is not allowed anywhere else on the Forum, only the Events section.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.