Jump to content


Ducky

Member Since 12 May 2012
Offline Last Active Jul 04 2012 05:29 PM
-----

About Me

I'm fortunate to live in the woods in Washington half the year and in the desert in California half the year. I'm married, with a dog, a cat, and two cockatoos.

I did my first work in clay in 6th grade...had great fun and always wanted to try it again. Fast-forward to the early 1980's and my early 30's. I took several quarters of clay classes at the University of Minnesota while working full time in a corporation. Loved it, but Life had other plans. Fast-forward to 2011 and my winter home in California, where I started taking classes again through a local college and everybody is retired except me (I make a good living as a self-employed editor and writing consultant). Walked into the house and told my husband, "I know what I want to be when I grow up!" He said, "And what is that?" "A potter." On the way home to Washington I found a used kiln on line and bought it the day after we got home.

I'm currently working with an electric kiln at cone 6. Though I admire and have worked at cone 10 reduction at UMN, I don't have access to a gas kiln and in truth, I'm really enjoying the range of colors available at mid-fire. Ceramics technology has changed so much since the 1980's! Though I have started re-learning the wheel, I mostly do slab work and find it's really intuitive for me--I follow my nose and have faith in where it leads me. I don't know if I'll ever sell--or attempt to sell--my work; right now I'm just happy to have my hands in the clay.

Community Stats


  • Group Members
  • Active Posts 4
  • Profile Views 3,355
  • Member Title Newbie
  • Age Age Unknown
  • Birthday Birthday Unknown
  • Gender
    Female Female
  • Location
    Washington & California
  • Interests
    Birding, hiking, reading, remodeling, gardening, and of course, pots!

Contact Information


0 Neutral

User Tools

Friends

Ducky hasn't added any friends yet.