Japanese Shino & American Shino

Hi everyone,

I am currently in the process of writing a paper on Shino ware for a university course and was wondering if I could possibly get some help from this wonderful forum. I will be comparing how shino was made then and now, but also need to look at its revitalization by the American potter in the mid 1970s. I am having difficulty getting my hands on sources that discuss the revitalization of the process, especially Wirt's contribution. There is a book titled American Shino - The Glaze of a thousand faces but it is nearly impossible to find even with university resources at my disposal (I am studying in Montreal, QC and no books can be found in Canada to borrow). Has any one read about the topic? Or have some insights they want to share? Or just have a copy of the book they want to lend out? :rolleyes: Any other sources that discusses this would be appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Regards,

Anne

Wow, sounds like a good paper. I have been using shino since the mid 80's and relative to anything other than mixing sodium as my main flux or spodumene and getting recipes from teachers, friends and from books, I know very little about the actual history. My recollection is that many of the recipes I used were actually older raku family recipes or derivations of fat white glazes. Tweaking them out and of course firing them to cone 10 and up and the use of atmospheric kilns like wood or soda added quite a bit of character to the surface also.I do wish you luck and hope you post the final paper here on the forum. Best, Stephen

Hi everyone,