The New Extruder

well we got the new extruder - the Scott Creek 4" one.  Its hard to get the dies to line up with the inner piece - seems to take a lot more fiddling around than it should.    anybody know the secret?  the directions say that this can be a challenge and to use some wood shims. seems like kind of a hokey solution.   suggestions please.    rakuku

well the two part dies are hard to line up and keep an even wall. we had to use a little wrench that didn't come with to tighten down the inner die.

but also when you put the 3 pins in to hold the die collar in place the whole thing still seems wiggly and not closely fitted enough.  I am wondering if i should call the maker.  might just be learning curve for me since i have little experience.     rakuku

There is some play room. But once you start extruding I found it centers itself. Next back hollow die , the piece attached to "tripod", off of plane. This makes smaller die slightly inside....Also make sure your clay is appropriate moisture level and well wedged

I extrude 100s of small boxes, round, square and triangle and don't have this issue of movement or off center uneven extruded hollow pieces.

What I do is put the head on a table upside down then assemble everything there, measure to make sure the center plate is in the middle of the hollow one, then using 3-4 pieces of painters tape tape the pieces together on the top, which will be the bottom once you turn it over and attach it to the extruder. The tape keeps everything from shifting around as you handle it and get the holding pins in place. Leave the tape on the plate and pull a bit of an extrusion until you can see a bit of clay protruding from the die ring. Pull the tape and then pull a full extrusion. Once you have done the taped beginning the clay holds everything in place and just as long as you don't remove the head from the tube you can pull as many extrusions as you want and they will all be equal.