Eight years ago I have been in Rome at the famous exhibition “Cina - nascita di un impero†(China – the birth of an Empire). I saw many of the life sized terracotta warriors, horses and carts. Burial garments with jade and golden threads as well as other burial artifacts like the bi-discs.

I was immediately taken with the wine vessels, which always are tripods. Since then, I try to include some of the beauty found in that exhibition in my works “ceremonial vesselsâ€.

The picture bellow shows one of the Chinese tripods, made of bronze.

Is there an artifact that had a profound effect on your work? 

post-6433-0-50559600-1430230617_thumb.jpg

post-6433-0-50559600-1430230617_thumb.jpg

Great question , Evelyne. 

I have been making art for over 50 years, studying from museums, drawing, observing and working in clay for 49 years. Over that time period, many things have influenced me. I will list a few.

In the 1960s I greatly admired the political commentaries of gerry Williams. Several were on display in Newport during NCECA. In 1973,I saw a great show on Discoveries in China since Mao at the Smithsonian in 1974 or 75. Many of the potters who also saw the show agreed on one outstanding pot...a small spittoon of porcelain with a beautiful pale bluish celadon glaze. It was a simple low orb form topped with a very wide flared upper half. This did influence my work during the 70s. I also feel the vitality of early cave drawings influenced my work as far as studying animal movement for my raku pieces as well as an ancient Chinese sculpture of a leaping horse from the Ferghana valley. It is where the Chinese captured their War Horses. 

Other pieces that have inspired me or created great admiration for the artisanship are pieces from South America, particularly Chimu and Nasca Pottery. I greatly admire the tiled ceramics of the Silk Road: Maddarssahs, mosques and mausoleums. And there are the structures of the Alhambra in Spain.